When I Grow Up

I am going to school at East Carolina University to study Business Management with a concentration in Entrepreneurship. But why? Well, I have an interesting career choice, but if you want to find out what it is you have to read my post! I understand it is a bit on the lengthy side but you won’t regret reading. (However, if you want to just skim through it I won’t be mad at you either.)

When I was a little kid I never wanted to be a princess or an astronaut or a rock star of any kind. Those were never my dreams, and they still aren’t. I wanted to be a teacher for a very long time. I used to force my sister and neighbor into playing “school” with me. I would be the teacher and they would be my students, they didn’t want to play but I was older and I think I kind of scared them. Back then I saved EVERYTHING school related. They used to give us TIME for Kids magazines and I saved every single one along with all of the fake newspapers about the lost colony. I was a bit of a hoarder. As I left elementary school to enter middle school I quickly realized just how little teachers made. This is also when I had begun my Law & Order kick so now I wanted to be a lawyer and get the bad guys.

So this was my goal for a long time, I even went to camp to learn more about government (nerd alert.) However, I was still a kid and so when I realized that I would have to go to school for an extra four years I decided that was not for me. Although, my mom will tell you I would make a great lawyer. So I abandoned this idea and then one day it dawned on me. Why not turn one my favorite things into a job that I would love.

I enjoy movies of all genres and time periods, I could watch them all day and never get bored. When I was little, like really little, my parents took us to the drive-in. If you ask me what movie was playing I wouldn’t be able to tell you, however I do remember the dancing popcorn, candy, and soda. I loved the feeling I had or remember having at the drive-in. When I grow up, this is the feeling that I want to create for other families. When I grow up, I want to own a drive-in theater. Scratch that, I want to own a CHAIN of drive-in theaters.

To most people this sounds really cool and really crazy and that is what I love most about it. For the people that tell me that it won’t be easy–  DUH. nothing worth having ever is but that isn’t going to stop me. So, in ten years I may look back and feel about this idea how I feel about being a teacher or lawyer. But in this moment, this is what I want and I am not going to allow anyone or anything get in my way of accomplishing my dream. So, stay tuned to see how long it takes me to turn this dream into a reality.

Thank you for reading, I know this is a longer post. I hope you enjoyed!

2 thoughts on “When I Grow Up

Leave a Reply

